



CIV-DIS-WID EX

2022 v1

Exemption Requirements

The filing deadline for all exemptions is March 1st of the year for which they are being filed. Applications may be submitted online at www.sjcpa.gov or in person at our office. If you were otherwise eligible but missed the March 1st deadline due to extenuating circumstances, F.S.196.011(8) allows you to request that the Property Appraiser grant exemptions through the TRIM period.

Additionally, but not described on this page, are other exemptions based on how a property is used. Some of the more common of these include charitable, religious, scientific, literary, educational, non-profit homes for the aged, hospitals, nursing homes, affordable housing and historic exemptions. Each of these exemptions has its own set of eligibility criteria and application filing requirements which are specifically described under Chapter 196 of the Florida Statutes.

For questions or additional information regarding exemptions, please contact our office at (904) 827-5500 or customerservice@sjcpa.gov. Please visit our website at www.sjcpa.gov to download required form(s).

Benefit	Details & Requirements	Application Requirements
Civilian Disability	Blind/Other Permanent Disability (\$5000) F.S. 196.202	 DR-501 or proof of Florida residency And one of the following: Certificate from the Div. of Blind Services Certificate from Veteran's Administration Certificate from Social Security Administration DR-416 or DR-416B (for Blind Exemption)
	Quadriplegic (Totally Exempt) F.S. 196.101	DR-501(2) DR-416 forms
	Totally & Permanently Disabled Persons (Totally Exempt) - must have a total household income less than the amount set by the Florida Department of Revenue. F.S. 196.101	DR-501 **DR-501A (if paraplegic, hemiplegic or other totally and permanently disabled person who must use a wheelchair for mobility or who is legally blind) And one of the following:
	**DR-501A must be submitted annually to maintain exemption	(2) DR-416 or DR-416B (for Blind Exemption) forms Certificate from Veteran's Administration
Widow/ Widowers (\$5000) F.S.196.202	Un-remarried widow or widower	DR-501 or proof of Florida residency Deceased spouse's death certificate