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AND CAN BE RELOCATED. TPP INCLUDES:

- Machinery and equipment, furniture, fixtures, For more information on Tangible
@
tools, office equipment, computer equipment, Personal Property that must be reported T b I
signage, supplies, and any other equipment to the St. Johns County Property a n I e
Appraiser’s Office, please contact us.

used to operate a business, including old or fully

depreciated equipment. Additionally, property Information contained herein is valid at the time of print, but Pe rso n a I
subject to legislative updates and/or changes in case law.

that has been expensed under IRS Section 179 P

must also be reported.
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- Leased, loaned, or rented equipment. ST. AUGUSTINE, FL 32084
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- Leasehold improvements related to your business.

« Furniture and fixtures used in the rental of
any residential property or commercial @
property are taxable. TPP@SICPA.GOV

S

904.827.5508 or 904.827.5500

The filing deadline is April 1.

You may file online at www.sjcpa.gov Additional resources are available at
floridarevenue.com | leg.state.fl.us
Chapter 196

www.sjcpa.gov File online at www.sjcpa.gov



Tangible Personal Property

} WHO MUST FILE A
TPP RETURN FORM?

All owners of a company, proprietorship, corporation, or

partnership, as well as contractors and self-employed agents

who possess TPP on January 1. In compliance with Florida
Statutes 193.052 and 193.062, a TPP return form listing all
tangible property must be filed by April 1 each year.

- Businesses: Any business owner who owns TPP or who
loans, leases, or rents tangible personal property must

report such property.

« Rental Property: Furniture and fixtures used in the rental
of any residential property or commercial property are

taxable and must be reported on a TPP form.

} WHY MUST A TPP RETURN
FORM BE FILED?

Florida law requires that all TPP be reported each year to
the Property Appraiser’s Office for the county where it

is located. To facilitate this process, postcards with filing
instructions are mailed to all St. Johns County taxpayers
whom this office determines may have property to report.
If you received a postcard and feel that the form does not
apply to you (for example, if you have sold your business
or are no longer in business), please contact our office.
TPP return forms may be submitted online, by email, by
mail, or by utilizing the drop box located outside the

south entrance of our building. Failure to receive notice

(postcard) does not relieve you of the obligation to file.

HOW DO | QUALIFY FOR THE
$25,000 EXEMPTION ON TPP?

In the initial year of qualification for the exemption, you are
required to file the TPP return form per Florida Statute 196.183.
This form will serve as your application to receive the $25,000
(A1) exemption. It is the responsibility of the taxpayer to file the
TPP return form in any subsequent year if the value increases

to greater than $25,000 in any year.

} WHAT HAPPENS IF MY TPP FORM IS
INCOMPLETE OR HAS ERRORS?

If your TPP return form isincomplete or has errors, you will be
notified and will be asked to provide a complete or corrected
TPP return form within 30 days. Additional penalties may
apply if the TPP return form is not filed by April 1 or with an

extension by May 1.

} WHAT HAPPENS IF 1 DO NOT FILE
MY TPP RETURN FORM?

In the initial year of business, if you do not file a return form,
this office is authorized to estimate the value from the best
information available. You will be penalized 25% of the value

for failure to file properly and will not receive the $25,000 (A1)
exemption. If you are an existing business who does not timely
file, penalties will apply, but you will retain the $25,000 (A1)
exemption. Additionally, assessments may not be contested
unless a return form is timely filed under Florida Statute
194.034. If you are unable to timely file your TPP return form by
April 1 of the year, a 30-day extension may be granted by filling
out a TPP Extension Request form. Go to www.sjcpa.gov

=> “Forms & Data” =» “TPP Extension Request” to submit

this request.

HOW DO | SUBMIT
MY TPP FORM?

Please visit our website at www.sjcpa.gov = “Search Property
Records” = “Tangible Property Search.” Use the online filing link
included at the top of your Tangible Personal Property Record
Card and follow the instructions provided to complete your return
electronically. Alternatively, you may submit your completed
TPP return form(s) to TPP@sjcpa.gov. If this is your initial year
in business and you do not find your company in our online

records, please contact our office.
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Important Dates

JANUARY
- Assessment date and notice of requirement
to file postcard mailed

APRIL 1
- Deadline for filing TPP return forms
without penalty

MAY 1
- Deadline for 30-day extension

AUGUST
- Notice of proposed taxes mailed (Truth in
Millage also known as TRIM)

SEPTEMBER
- Deadline for filing petitions to the Value
Adjustment Board (actual date varies)

NOVEMBER
- Tax bills mailed by Tax Collector’s Office
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